top of page

#TravelHack Trip Advisor Will NOT Lead You Astray When it Comes to Finding Great Food


It's as easy as 1, 2, 3..

Step 1. Enter Google: Best Restaurants in _________

Step 2. Scroll to: Trip Advisor: Top 10 Restaurants 2016

Step 3. Choose the $-$$$ to your liking, and ENJOY!

I followed these steps in Verona and was more than satisfied.

The first option I chose after clicking on 'Verona's Top 10 Restaurants', was #3 on the list, Parma a Tavola. After following my trusty GPS, as I was approaching the entrance I could see the pasta being freshly hand made in front of my growing eyes.

I stepped inside the quaint restaurant, the epitome of a 'hole in the wall'. On the right side, the pasta dishes were being prepared. Lining the left side, were small tables coming directly out of the wall with seats enough for only a few. A very small space, packing major Italian character.

I had hopes for the upstairs seating to be free, my senses already overwhelmed from the various smell's engulfing the small restaurant.

But before I could make it to the stairs at the back to investigate further, I was approached and asked if I had a reservation. No chance if you didn't, sadly I left, but definitely with plans to return.

I scrolled to my next option on the list, #6 seemed like a good number; Flora. A 10 minute walk, more outside of the shopping district I was currently standing in. After I made the walk I opened the door to a much less crowded, more spacious but not lacking in Italian charm.

As I was shown my seat and asked if it was my first time, the restaurant was explained to me. It was buffet style, self service, you fill your plate and pay based on the weight.

Ok.. I was suddenly feeling hesitant. I won't lie, I contemplated walking out. The American in me hears the word 'buffet' and alarms go off within, reminisces of mass amounts of food, Country Buffet style. No offense to Country Buffet lovers out there, but it doesn't exactly scream, quality, to me.

I persisted with Trip Advisor's comments ringing in my head, "Good experience" and"Amazing food". So I found the plate at the beginning of the line, placed it on the cafeteria like tray and progressed through the buffet line.

As the first bite went in my mouth, I knew I had made the right decision in staying. And every bite after that confirmed it. So much flavor. It was as if they were hiding several Italian Grandmother's in the back kitchen, cooking up a storm of home cooked delightfulness with all of their secret family recipes. This was not your average cafeteria food. Italians really know how to prepare food.

There was a very friendly young girl waiting on me, very excited to speak English and in the fact I was from America. Even saying with that dazzle in her eyes, "America! But why would you be here if you're from there!" haha, the grass is always greener isn't it.

After cleaning my plate, treasuring every last morsel, the young waitress offered me chocolate cake and in such a way I couldn't say no. And once again, incredibly glad I hadn't denied the offer. It was quite literally a slice of heaven.

Trip Advisor #6, for the win.

After filling your soul (because when in Italy you don't eat to fill your belly, you eat to satisfy your soul), make your way to the river, a few minute walk from the restaurant. And follow the sidewalk that lines the river down over the bridges filled with beautiful views. When you come to the final one, cross over and make your way to the Arena and walk until your feet fall off and you have to find another mouth watering restaurant to refill.

I love Verona.

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page