top of page

How to See Milan, a City Which Has Been Completely Overrun by Tourism


I had a great plan as I prepared to enter Milan, a city I had already visited a few times. On my previous trips, I had gone inside the infamous Duomo, the gigantic gothic style Milan Cathedral which took nearly six centuries to complete. I had strolled the surrounding shopping streets and dined at the overpriced cafes which sat right on the cobblestone streets ideal for people watching; aka tourist watching.

A friend had recently visited Milan and showed me pictures of the roof top views which immediately became a 'must-see' for myself. Therefore, when Milan came up next on my tour list, I packed my camera and prepared to check off the visit from my list. The Milan Duomo is one of the most immaculate churches in Europe and being able to see the carvings and sculptures up close was very enticing to me.

Then, I got off the number 14 tram at the Duomo stop and crossed the busy pedestrian streets to the main plaza. I always enjoy being on the tram of first timers for seeing the grand Cathedral. You're putting along the tram tracks until suddenly the gargantuan building appears out your window. Many people can't hold back their gasps and awes. It is a structure to be admired, there is no denying this fact.

As I made my way closer to the architectural masterpiece, the sheer number of tourists was overwhelming. People from just about every country posing for pictures and running every which way and the thing that literally makes my skin crawl; people seeing how many pigeons will sit on their arms and shoulders. Overall, sheer chaos.

Continuing closer, the line started to take shape in front of me for just how many people had the same glamorous idea I did of entering the church and climbing the stairs to the top. Suddenly making the pre planned check mark was not so important to me.

Without hesitation, I chose the street to the left of the Duomo and started walking. Through the tourists, through the masses that filled the streets. Suddenly the warning of pit pocketers seeming very real in the mess of people. Through the street performers. And through the police officers. I kept walking.

Soon the crowd began to thin and I could feel myself start to relax. Tourists. This city has officially been overrun by them.

The next streets I chose, began to be lined with very high end shops, from Dolce Gabbana, Prada, Miu Miu and Versace; boutiques which clearly did not fit in my pocketbook standards but the atmosphere certainly did. The further I kept pressing on, the more I heard and saw, solo Italiano.

Italy, one of the greatest places in the world. They have it all; class, fashion, beauty, food, and an air about them that just screams: "I've got this." Confidence. I love Italian vibes.

Within a few more strides, I left the tourism energy back in the close mile radius of the Duomo, and reached the outskirts which embodied the Italy I adore. Couples sauntering hand in hand as if they had just been plucked straight from a catalog and placed on the street to gracefully strut; put together and beautiful.

After I passed through the shopping district, I came across plazas with small cafes and restaurants with more authenticity. Sure, there were still tourists mingling within the crowds, but the atmosphere was much more pleasing to the traveler and Italian lover.

As I sat down at a quaint cafe on the corner of a small plaza, Tiramisu Delishoes, I was pleasantly greeted by an older, well dressed, bald man wearing thick, black circular spectacles with pants too short; revealing his plaid socks in the style that only true Italians can somehow manage to pull off.

I knew I made the right decision from standing in an hour line to join the masses on the roof of the Cathedral.

Stay near the Duomo, and miss finding the soul of this Italian City.

The road less traveled is almost always the better path. I'll cheers another Aperol Spritz to that one.

As I paid my bill to the Italian waiter who exemplified vibes he was simply happy to be alive, I confidently pressed on my journey.

Through more meandering streets, I suddenly found myself in front of the Castello Sforzesco with a beautiful, cascading fountain beckoning my entrance to cross the moat and explore the grounds within the castle walls.

For a small fee you can enter the castle for a Michaelangelo exhibition, or for free, stay outside and mill around the grounds.

It's a pleasant way to spend a sunny afternoon, lounging in the park. Note: if you're a runner, this is the spot in Milan. Countless runners make their rounds around the castle and wind through the park sidewalks.

People are traveling. More than ever. This is positive, not only economically for cities around the world but also for humanity. But everything must have it's cost. More people traveling equals crowds. And crowds leads to frustration.

Sometimes when I'm moving around in these large tourist destinations and I have the urge to smack the next selfie stick that gets shoved in front of my face or have a desperate need to use my boney elbows to push through the crowds, I remind myself to take a deep breath and remember that it is a good thing mass amounts of people are getting outside their boxes to see what is out in the world.

Added bonus, it encourages me to explore new corners of the world. The Duomo of Milan, which began construction in the 1300's, is safe to say will be around for a few more years. And I will have more chances to enjoy the views from the roof. Until then, I will continue on my mission to search out new paths and hope tourists will start to branch out as well.

Take the road less traveled, it's less crowded.

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page